Corleone House, Castello Degli Schiavi, Fiumefreddo, Sicily

Since starting movie locating 6 years ago, the Sicily exhibition was the one that I was waiting for. The hunt for The Godfather locations has been the one that I hold closest

g66
to my heart. One of the reasons is my admiration for the actors involved, the likes of Al Pacino and De Niro, Sicily itself with its vast landscape and countryside views and also the intrigue that surrounds the history of the Mafia.

The hotel was located just south of Taormina and a five minute taxi ride away from Fiumefreddo. However, the first location the Corleone Sicilian House is seen in Godfather part 1 where Pacino goes to exile, then later on Apollonia, his first wife, gets blown up in the car whilst learning to drive in the grounds.

g55

And finally Godfather part 3 where Pacino reminisces about his life and of course the last scene were Pacino passes away is located south of Taormina in Fiumefreddo. The taxi driver pulled up outside the wrought iron gates and to be honest, I thought that was it, so got my camera out to take a couple of shots from outside the gates. I heard the driver shout something in Italian and was frantically buzzing the intercom.

A man came out of the huge house and let us in to take shots of the classic Italian style villa, the owner was so hospitable and friendly and so was his dog! He told me that the BBC had been there the week before filming! For me it was a privilege to be at this location, but to actually be able to go inside and speak with the owner was just the icing on the cake, with the film being my all time favourite gangster genre!

Tagged , , ,