Hotel Gabrielli & Hotel Bauer, Venice, Italy

Hotel Gabriellidln22
Riva degli Schiavoni, 4110
30122 Venezia, Italy
Web: http://www.hotelgabrielli.it/en
Email: info@hotelgabrielli.it
Tel +39 041 5231580

The exterior and entrance locations of the Hotel Gabrielli were used in this adaptation of the Daphnie du Maurier novel, Don’t Look Now. Having travelled from the UK to Venice, I arrived in heavy rain and took the vaporetto past the restaurant Roma where Julie first meets the sisters – situated on the Grand Canal on the foothill of the north side of the Ponte Scalzi. Passing amongst other interesting pieces of achitecture are the Rialto Bridge, Byrons house and of course Harry’s Bar. Did I mention I was soaked from head to foot?!

dln21
After walking past St Marks square and the Doges palace, where Casanova charmed his way to escape the Bridge of Sighs, I finally reached my hotel. I booked in and after tipping the bellhop a few Euros, I showered and set to work thinking to myself hold on tiger! You’re situated in one of Roegs’ movie locations! This has obviously happened to me before but not unintentionally.

Hotel Bauers, Marco, 1459, 30124 Venice, Italydln15
Web: http://www.bauer.hotelinvenice.com

Email: concierge@bauervenezia.com
Tel: +39 0415207022

The beautifully non liner sequence of the infamous bedroom scene was shot whilst booking into the Hotel Bauer one Saturday afternoon. The shoot took 90 minutes to film and only a hand held camera was used. On set was the Director Nicolas Roeg, Director of Photography Anthony B Richmond and Assistant Camera Operator Simon Ransley.

dln16

Tagged , , , ,